Tuesday, October 4, 2011

Are We All Crazy?

I love country music.
There, it's out there. I also like other stuff too, which is a good thing. It is a good thing because I can't stand to listen to these people talk about politics. I can't even listen to music I enjoy anymore for all of the political crap. Everyone is a political expert now. When 9/11 happened, Alan Jackson put out a nice tribute song in "Where Were You When the World Stopped Turning?" which I thought was in wonderful taste. Then we have others who did the boot in your ass American songs and served to only rile people up in an already hostile situation. 

Hank Williams was on the fair and unbiased (ha!) Fox network yesterday. Apparently he made a comparison to Hitler in analyzing the pairing of Obama and Boehner in a golf game. First, let me say, it was only a game of golf. Why make it a political issue? Let's be happy that these two men from different sides of the aisle are at least trying to give the impression that they are making an effort to come together. Are we out of world issues to discuss? Need to move on to a golf game? If so, please read your local paper-there is still plenty going on in the world that is much more important than who plays golf with who. 

Yes, we do have free speech in this country, but just because you have the right to say it, doesn't make it the right thing to say. 

Let's think about what the Jews went through during World War II...do you think any of those who lost mothers and fathers would find this comparison funny? Now I'm not going to jump on the bandwagon and say that Williams compared Obama to Hitler, because he didn't. But, I think the comment showed insensitivity. I also think ESPN was justified in removing him. When Williams appears on Monday night football he is an extension, or agent, of ESPN. This is not the image that they want to portray. 

But, as I have said time and time again, the political landscape has gotten nasty. Why must we always go there time and time again? I would shut up if people would learn to control themselves, I promise. 

It just seems like people get on TV and forget all common sense. The booing of the gay serviceman, the applause for a person dying from lack of healthcare, etc., all shows how mean we have become in the political landscape. Why do we feel the need to be so mean to each other to get our point across? I enjoy reading and commenting on articles I find online. I can't believe how many people resort to calling total strangers names because they don't agree with their point of view. I have seen "retard", welfare monger, idiot, stupid, and so on. Again, just because you have the right to say it doesn't mean that it is the right thing to say. I have also seen the president disrespected with racial slurs. I can't tell you how unacceptable this is to me. Like him or not, this is our president. The color of his skin should be a non-issue. 

Have we all lost our minds? 

Let's all make an effort to finally act like adults? Let's use adult words and reasoning in our discussions, not call names. Have anyone ever won you over to see things their way by calling you names? I really doubt it. So, if you are trying to gather honey, quit kicking over the beehive! I don't take most Republicans seriously for this very reason. If you want to be taken seriously and have people listen to you, have something intelligent to say. Debate issues, not people. 

No comments:

Post a Comment