Thursday, October 13, 2011

Budget Woes

Let me first start by saying that numbers are not my thing. Math makes my head hurt. I changed my major to avoid a math class-seriously. But, changing my major is what led me to my career in law, which I love. But, I digress...

I have been reading financial information regarding the national budget, deficit, and debt. How did you know I HAD to read it for an assignment? You do know me well! Anyway, I am amazed at what I have just learned. You know how sometimes you are reading something and it just doesn't agree with you? I'm there. 

I first read the summary prepared by "The Gang of Six" and they had some great ideas, many of which I think are absolutely sustainable, and will save a lot of money. I then read another report, which I can't recall right now-my head hurts from the numbers. At any rate, it was a well written piece and it offered plenty of statistics and history to support the positions. And, much of it was similar to what was in the "Gang of Six" report. Both were quite lengthy. Then comes the Heritage Foundation. A one page presentation is all that they had to offer for their point of view. One page. In one page they completely go against the lengthy pieces that I had just read. And I know from the real life statistics that I just reviewed that most of what they are saying is a bunch of crap. It reads like propaganda and spits facts out, shaping them to the circumstance. 

And I wonder why so many people seem uninformed...this is why! Yes, they have the right to freedom of speech and can say whatever they want. But we as humans have been given the gift of common sense. Don't get your facts from PAC or any other kind of organization...research the issue yourself to learn the facts. If it is worth thinking about, it is worth thinking about fully informed. Plus, it is your duty as a citizen to be fully informed. And for God sake, just because someone sends it to you in an email doesn't make it so. There are people out there with nothing better to do than create chaos and confusion-don't give in to them. The best way to fight chaos and confusion is to be informed. If you don't research it, don't complain about it, and certainly don't attempt to debate the issue. 

Hmmm...maybe I should go back to posting on Facebook for this particular post...I think many people need to hear it. 

Saturday, October 8, 2011

Free Speech

I feel obligated to explain this whole free speech thing, as it seems some do not understand what it is about. Over and over again when someone is penalized for what they say I hear people asking "what about free speech?" and just shake my head. Some people simply don't get it. 

Obviously some of us aren't aware that in some countries you can be put in jail and/or punished severely just for something that you say. It may even get you killed. Our founding fathers have promised that no such thing will happen in this country by giving us freedom of speech. This means we are free to speak out against (or for) anything we wish, in as public of a place as we wish, and the government will not interfere with that by putting us in jail or any other actions. We can communicate online, on paper, or orally and there is nothing that the government can do about it. 

Now if you are going to utilize this right, there still may be consequences for what you say, although not from the government. You are absolutely free to tell your boss he is an asshole, but he is also absolutely free to fire you. You can certainly attend that KKK rally, but if you are a local newscaster it's probably a bad idea. See the pattern here? Free speech still has consequences. Think about a world where everyone could say whatever they wanted with no fear of consequences from ANYBODY...it is not a happy picture. 

I am not advocating that we all keep our mouth shut about everything. That would be impossible for me anyway. What I am saying is to make sure what you are speaking out about is worth whatever consequences you might face. Just because you have the right to say something doesn't mean it is the right thing to say. Don't be outraged when you face consequences for your actions. Being fired from your job is certainly better than being out in jail or executed. We are still the lucky ones. 

Tuesday, October 4, 2011

Am I White???

We are looking at the history of race in law this week in one of my classes. This is one of those things that I have never given much thought to. Of course I know the discrimination that African Americans went through, and the persecution of the Jews. But what about Chinese? Syrians? Half Japanese and half German? Three quarters Filipino and one quarter white?  Did you know that there is case law on this? 

Here is what I know:

Burmese=not white
Japanese=not white
Chinese=not white
Mexican=white
Native Americans=not white
1/2 White, 1/4 Japanese, 1/4 Chinese=not white
Asian Indians=probably not white (1909), no wait, a 1910 decision says they are! Then in 1923 they are no longer white. 
Syrians=white (1909), but in 1913 they changed colors again. In 1915 they once again find themselves white. 
Armenians=white
3/4 Filipino & 1/4 white=not white
1/2 German & 1/2 Japanese=not white

This list is not comprehensive of course, I am just listing some of the highlights. If you are really interested in the details contact me and I can give you specifics. 

Can you imagine the chaos people must have felt during the period? I have just never given it any thought as to if a Japanese person is white or not. It was certainly a sign of the times, a time that I am glad is gone. 

But after all of this reading, now I wonder if I am really white... I am pasty complected with blue eyes, so that is a silly question for me to ask, but what about others who are darker complected? Some of the criteria used (the sole criteria in some cases) for determining people white or non-white was "ocular inspection of skin."  In English, that means they looked at you. 

I wonder how my dark complected son would have fared in those days. My mother in law is dark as well. I have a friend who is dark. Would they have been white 100 years ago? 

I guess I am just a bit amazed at the effort this topic was given over the course of fifty or so years. I am so glad that we have moved on to better things. Well, I don't know if it is better or not, but other things. 

These judges would be spinning with all of the race combinations that we have today! 




Are We All Crazy?

I love country music.
There, it's out there. I also like other stuff too, which is a good thing. It is a good thing because I can't stand to listen to these people talk about politics. I can't even listen to music I enjoy anymore for all of the political crap. Everyone is a political expert now. When 9/11 happened, Alan Jackson put out a nice tribute song in "Where Were You When the World Stopped Turning?" which I thought was in wonderful taste. Then we have others who did the boot in your ass American songs and served to only rile people up in an already hostile situation. 

Hank Williams was on the fair and unbiased (ha!) Fox network yesterday. Apparently he made a comparison to Hitler in analyzing the pairing of Obama and Boehner in a golf game. First, let me say, it was only a game of golf. Why make it a political issue? Let's be happy that these two men from different sides of the aisle are at least trying to give the impression that they are making an effort to come together. Are we out of world issues to discuss? Need to move on to a golf game? If so, please read your local paper-there is still plenty going on in the world that is much more important than who plays golf with who. 

Yes, we do have free speech in this country, but just because you have the right to say it, doesn't make it the right thing to say. 

Let's think about what the Jews went through during World War II...do you think any of those who lost mothers and fathers would find this comparison funny? Now I'm not going to jump on the bandwagon and say that Williams compared Obama to Hitler, because he didn't. But, I think the comment showed insensitivity. I also think ESPN was justified in removing him. When Williams appears on Monday night football he is an extension, or agent, of ESPN. This is not the image that they want to portray. 

But, as I have said time and time again, the political landscape has gotten nasty. Why must we always go there time and time again? I would shut up if people would learn to control themselves, I promise. 

It just seems like people get on TV and forget all common sense. The booing of the gay serviceman, the applause for a person dying from lack of healthcare, etc., all shows how mean we have become in the political landscape. Why do we feel the need to be so mean to each other to get our point across? I enjoy reading and commenting on articles I find online. I can't believe how many people resort to calling total strangers names because they don't agree with their point of view. I have seen "retard", welfare monger, idiot, stupid, and so on. Again, just because you have the right to say it doesn't mean that it is the right thing to say. I have also seen the president disrespected with racial slurs. I can't tell you how unacceptable this is to me. Like him or not, this is our president. The color of his skin should be a non-issue. 

Have we all lost our minds? 

Let's all make an effort to finally act like adults? Let's use adult words and reasoning in our discussions, not call names. Have anyone ever won you over to see things their way by calling you names? I really doubt it. So, if you are trying to gather honey, quit kicking over the beehive! I don't take most Republicans seriously for this very reason. If you want to be taken seriously and have people listen to you, have something intelligent to say. Debate issues, not people.